College of Education Sitemap
Skip to Main Content
Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

CHAE Speaker Series: Scholarly Communication in the Connected World

January 30, 2020 @ 2:30 pm - 4:00 pm EST

Scholarly Communication in the Connected World

As libraries continue to navigate the transition of scholarly communication into a digital-first model, new needs arise at many institutions and with them, new roles for the 21st-century library. Digital identity management for scholars, altmetrics for the impact of scholarship, library publishing, and open access to scholarship and data are among the most pressing issues that we face at MSU and at many of our peer institutions. This session will discuss the changing nature of scholarly communication, increased demands on scholars, and the role of the library as a partner. The unique challenges, opportunities, and responsibilities of the land-grant university will frame the conversation. A particular focus will be the partnerships that can enhance research and scholarly impact as well as develop skills needed to critically participate in scholarly communication.

Dr. Joseph A. Salem, Jr.

Joseph A. Salem, Jr. serves as Dean of Libraries and started at Michigan State University on August 1, 2018. Prior to this position, he served as Associate Dean for Learning, Undergraduate Services and Commonwealth Campus Libraries at Penn State University. He has published and presented widely on open educational resources, student engagement, teaching and learning, library assessment, and library management. Dr. Salem earned his Ph.D. in Evaluation and Measurement and M.L.S from Kent State University. He has served as psychometrician on two national information literacy initiatives, Project SAILS (Standardized Assessment of Information Literacy) and the K–12 Tool for Real-Time Assessment of Information Literacy Skills (TRAILS). He also served as an ARL Leadership Fellow from 2016–2017 and was recognized as the 2017 Kent State School of Library and Information Science Alumnus of the Year.